



The White Coat Ceremony symbolizes passage into the initial stages of the profession of pharmacy practice and represents a contract for excellence in providing compassionate patient care. Today, our students take part in this tradition which welcomes them to begin study among the ranks of pharmacy professionals.

THURSDAY



5 O'CLOCK PM

CENTER FOR THE ARTS MAIN AUDITORIUM UNIVERSITY AT BUFFALO NORTH CAMPUS

Sponsored by:

TOPS FRIENDLY MARKETS, WALGREENS

Officiator and Calling of the Class

Nicole Albanese, PharmD '01 Assistant Dean for Student Success & Engagement

Keynote Speaker

Kari Mergenhagen, PharmD '07 Infectious Diseases Pharmacy Manager at VA Western New York Healthcare System

Kari Mergenhagen graduated from the University of Buffalo School of Pharmacy in 2007 with her Doctorate of Pharmacy, then completed her residency at the James J. Peters VA Medical Center in the Bronx. She is dual Board Certified in Pharmacotherapy and Infectious Diseases. Dr. Mergenhagen is the Infectious Diseases Pharmacy Manager at the VA Western New York Healthcare System and serves as the residency program director for the PGY1 Pharmacy Practice and PGY2 Infectious Diseases Residencies. She has authored over 65 publications, which are featured in prominent journals, such as Clinical Infectious Diseases. Many of her publications have garnered national attention and have influenced care around the nation. She was recently featured in the New England Journal of Medicine's Journal watch. Additionally, her research has been featured in the lay press in publications such as US News and World Report and Time magazine. She was recently presented the United States Under Secretary for Health - Excellence in Pharmacy Practice Award by the Department of Veterans Affairs. Furthermore, she received a Commendation from the Department of Veterans Affairs for her efforts as an educator, mentor, clinician and for fostering creative thinking, collaboration, transparency, and dedication to patient needs. She has received several precepting awards and the prestigious Orville C. Baxter Memorial Professional Practice Award. She serves as a speaker for the Society of Infectious Diseases Pharmacists and is a guest surveyor for the accreditation services of the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists. For fun, she authors children's books under the pen name KA Merg.

Photography Policy: UB will occasionally have a photographer at events such as this. Please be advised that UB may use photographs taken during events for publication in print and online, including social media. Please alert the photographer at the event should you not wish to have your photograph taken.

CLASS OF 2028

Ryenn Adamo Tasmia Akond Daniyal Atiq Yasminah Bedeau Kalsang Bhutia Isabelle Blair **Bailey Blanchard Carol Botros** Khushman Brar Hannah Broder **Carlie Bryant** Zoe Cao Belinda Cao Suebeen Chai **Evelyn** Chan Sammi Chen Michelle Chen Annie Chen Fanny Chu Orlando Colon Tyler Depczynski Darshpreet Dhillon Mangou Diakite **Stephanie Dias** Karen Diaz Fernandez Keira Dickey Adith Dinesh Morgan Dowdell Reuben Du Melissa Fabien Miranda Fanara **Corey Farber** Courtney Fetzer Yang Le Foon Hamdala Fousseni **Kylie Freeman** Thomas Gawlikowski Matthew Giglio **Brandon Giles** Ethan Groh **Janice** Guan **Braiden Guinther** Zainab Haidari Saba Hajibandeh Austin Harning Nathaniel Harrington Kayla Henry Megan Hoyden Walter Hui

Timothy Hui Fateema Islam Faith Jackman Ayda Jamilian Yusen Jiang Cheng Yu Jiang Hong Xuan Jiang |Lynn |ones Jonathan Joseph Taskeen Karim Rabeya Khan Drishti Khanna Hyemin Kin Rachael Kim Fli Kinel Sviatoslav Kukil Kaylee Lacey **Brittany Larson** Kayla Latone Megan Lavis Emma Leary Edmund Lee Natalie Lesinski Haoyu Li Vincent Li Alan Li liayi Lin Llani Longgos Sandra Lu Parker Lubell Samantha Luo Jacob Lymberopoulos McKenna Lynch Duncan MacDonald Arwa Mahran Cecilia Mak Anna Manjerovic Chelsea McGowan Sean McWilliams Lauren Meyer Angela Mo Leeann Mui Mia Muniz Sophia Muscente Adarsh Nair Leia Nandwani Nader Nasief Abdel Sayed Stanley Ng David Ng

lackie Ngo **Abby Nichols** Cara O'Shea Christopher Ottavio lil Patel Imogene Plitt Emily Poplawski Marissa Rackwitz Qariza Rafa-Vidya Maureen Raima Gianni Raymond Omar Rizek Shane Rogers Anah Sadique Kayla Saralegui Martin Savka Ashlyn Scaria Melina Shadman Ian Shear Jeni Sherpa Aaliyah Sims Kevin Siu Kimberlee Snell Chris Song **Carson Spina Emma States** Ana Sulava Hee Ju Sun Wan Ki Sze Kelly Sze Samuel Tetteh Kimberly Teyengua Joseph Ung **Thaliyah Valentine** Morgan Van Buren - Fess Lillian Wei Lauren Weydig **Tiffany Wong** Kelly Yeoh Maegan Yeoh Alexandra Yick Seungjin Yoo Oscar You Tatsiana Yurchyk Kowsar Zekri Shihao Zhana Chenkang Zhao Edwina Zheng

OATH OF A PHARMACIST

I promise to devote myself to a lifetime of service to others through the profession of pharmacy. In fulfilling this vow:

I will consider the welfare of humanity and relief of suffering my primary concerns.

I will promote inclusion, embrace diversity, and advocate for justice to advance health equity.

I will apply my knowledge, experience, and skills to the best of my ability to assure optimal outcomes for all patients.

I will respect and protect all personal and health information entrusted to me.

I will accept the responsibility to improve my professional knowledge, expertise, and self-awareness.

I will hold myself and my colleagues to the highest principles of our profession's moral, ethical and legal conduct.

I will embrace and advocate changes that improve patient care.

I will utilize my knowledge, skills, experiences, and values to prepare the next generation of pharmacists.

I take these vows voluntarily with the full realization of the responsibility with which I am entrusted by the public.